Welcome home

In case amazingly enough you haven’t heard, I am currently reading a book called Kisses from Katie. When I got it a few weeks ago I immediately read halfway through it, since then I have slowed down but it is still deeply moving me. I connect to this girl. I just understand her. Maybe it’s because I too am a young single woman forging ahead toward God in ways that others just don’t understand? Whatever it is, this book is blessing my heart every single page.

Tonight as I read a chapter I found that she and I also have a very similar feeling when it comes to home… A paragraph she wrote:

“‘Welcome home,’ the lady said to me at church. And in my mind, eight little bald, brown people ran toward me shrieking, ‘Mommy, welcome hooooome!’ and squeezed me until I threatened to burst. My heart lives in so many places. With so many people. But God whispers to me that I have only one home, and that is with Him. I will never be content on this earth, I will always be a nomad. It was meant to be that way. My heart was created with a desire for a home, a nest, a sanctuary, and that can be found only with Him in heaven. And I will continue bouncing from one home to another, loving with everything I have in whatever location I currently reside, excitedly awaiting the day when I am called heavenward and He says to me, ‘Welcome home.'”

Comment

