Confessions of a workaholic…

The busiest job I’ve ever had is any summer job I had at Wildwood Ranch. Everyone works about 16-hour days non-stop with tons of physical activity, and if you have the lovely privilege of watching over or taking home campers that got in trouble you’re working more like a 20-hour day sometimes. Summer camp at Wildwood is absolute hell and unspeakable beauty. By the end of the three months you just want to sleep for the next three months.

I say that to say that my life in Los Angeles consists of nearly everyday being a 14-16 hour day of work, if not more… I am very new to this workaholic life. And can I just state for the record that I absolutely love it? Because I do. However I have a few confessions from this new uber-busy life of mine…

I have needed to get my hair trimmed for three months, and have yet to get that done…

I’ve gotten to a level of terrible sleeping that I have never known before: stress sleeping. This sounds like, I’m so stressed that I sleep so well when I can sleep. No… No. I have never been an anxious person, and I still would say I am not at all an anxious person. But more nights than I can count I have woken myself up thinking of a millions of things that need to be done, and half-awake I worry about all of it.

I also have woken up to my phone in my hand several times. Sometimes I’ve unlocked it in my sleep and am attempting a text or email. Sometimes I just think someone is calling or texting me so I pick up my phone.

Speaking of phones… if you’re a dear friend that doesn’t live in LA, you have probably texted, called, or wrote me on Facebook… And I probably didn’t respond. Please know I love you. And just keep contacting me.

I have never used the calendar/schedule on my phone so much in my life. That baby is boomin’ these days.

I have never been so busy in my life. I have also never gotten so much accomplished in my life. I heard someone say the other day, “If you want something done, ask a busy person to do it.” It’s very true.

I have different people in my life that tell me to slow down and whatnot, but here’s my thing, I am not married with kids. I’m young, single, and doing my own thing. And again, loving it.

Want to know the funniest part of my busy life? It is entirely voluntary. I’m not paid a dime here.

I know, I probably really am crazy.

 

P.S. Happy November! Hope everyone had an exciting Halloween, I got to take kids from the South Central projects to Trick-or-Treat in Beverly Hills with my favorite charity, Red Eye Inc. Here’s a picture of my Halloween buddies, they were Michael Myers and a dinosaur but they both have they’re masks off. :) I was Barbie.

20121101-152149.jpg

Comment

