The necessity of dancing in cars.

This afternoon I was driving home from work, my windows down, skimming the radio stations when I came upon “If You Leave Me Now” by Chicago.

1) I of course thought of one of my favorite scenes from A Lot Like Love. 2) Obviously, I sang along in a way that would have made Amanda and Ashton proud.

Yes, I’m generally¬†that crazy person who you will see singing, dancing, and laughing while I’m driving alone in my car. I am also that person when shopping in grocery stores.

It’s funny, loudly singing and laughing to “If You Leave Me Now” by myself reminded me why I’ve always loved the crazy and eccentric characters like Amanda Peet in A Lot Like Love, or Lorelai Gilmore in Girlmore Girls, or Emma Watson in Perks Of Being a Wallflower, or like Bridget in Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, or Emma Stone in Easy A.

I love characters like that because I am characters like that.

I know who I am. Sure, I learn new things all the time but the search for my identity isn’t an issue for me anymore, I know who I am.

But I don’t feel like I’ve been myself, really, for quite awhile now. And that kinda feels like holding your breath for months on end.

I’m ready to breathe again, guys. I don’t know what that will take, but I will breathe again.

2 thoughts on “The necessity of dancing in cars.”

Comment

