A 360 turn is not a failure.

A 360 is where you spin completely around, if you start off looking in one direction and spin, you’ll end looking the same way you were before.

I have come full circle.

Last summer I set out from small town Michigan to live a life of ministry and adventure in Los Angeles. And now as this summer comes to a close I find myself back in small town Michigan, closing a chapter of devastation and opening a chapter of trust.

I was not ill-prepared, I was not a little girl crushed by a big city. I ran head first into my LA life and loved it dearly. But after months of insane work hours, the try and fail ministry, and some of the best times of my life… I suddenly found myself at the lowest point in my life.

I set out to serve God and suddenly realized one day that I was further from Him than I’d ever been.

It’s been a long time coming in repairing this heart of mine, trying to process this year of my life. But I know for certain nothing was by accident. That I am back where I started is not a failure, it’s just the next chapter.

People will have opinions about your life and why you are where you are, but you are the only one living your life. You are the one who knows where you’ve been and God is the one who knows where you are going. To my friends living in the Plan B of your life, it’s not a mistake. It’s not a failure.

Is small town Michigan my end? Definitely not, I’m not even sure how long this season will be. But I am able to recognize now that my year’s 360 turn was exactly what was supposed to happen. There are things in life that we can only learn by learning them through a painful process, if we were never challenged we would never grow. If butterflies didn’t have to struggle out of their cocoon they wouldn’t be strong enough to fly.

What now? For me, Grad School, I’m gonna finish my Counseling degree. I used to joke it would take an act of God to get me to go back to school… And… Ya, that is what it took.

Everything happens for a reason, my friends.

Ecclesiastes 3:11

2 thoughts on “A 360 turn is not a failure.”

  1. Thank you for this, “To my friends living in the Plan B of their life, it’s not a mistake. It’s not a failure.” I think I am in the Plan M of my life, but surely not a failure!!! Love and miss you. Honored to call you my friend!!!

Comment

