I own a mattress.

This is over a month delayed, but I have a mattress now! Remember when I was telling you my sob story about being a nomad and not having a bed of my own for the past several years?

unnamed-4

Well, thanks to my friend’s family having an extra mattress lying around I am now the ridiculously proud owner of my very own mattress.

The other night I was sitting in a chair in my living room reading a book where the girl narrating the book was talking about how deliciously comfortable her bed is, so cozy and welcoming like open arms to hold you. I then thought, hey–I do not spend enough time just sitting in my bed. I know, there are definitely bigger life problems to have than not sitting in your bed enough, but I learned a lesson in my early twenties than some don’t learn until they are in their fifties or sixties: Rest is vital.

I know what it’s like to kill yourself over a job, over a mission, to work until you’re dead. But you know what happens after? You’re dead, and have very little to show for it.

Yesterday I stood in front of my bookshelf (I also have a bookshelf now! I smile every time I look at it.) trying to decide what book to read next after just finishing one. I looked at my books like Harry Potter, A Wrinkle In Time, Tuck Everlasting, and thought about rereading one of those books. Of course my mind gave me the same response it usually does, how those are books I want to read to my kids one day so I might as well reread a different book and keep those waiting.

A couple days ago my friend instagrammed a quote saying to stop waiting for someone to fall in love with you, stop waiting for life. As much as I am truly not someone that waits for anything I realized there’s a lot of things I’m looking forward to–and waiting for–in the realm of love, marriage, and kiddos.

Which is especially silly considering the major list of things I want to accomplish by myself.

How I Met Your Mother is coming to it’s series end tomorrow night so it’s been on my mind a lot lately, there was an episode in this final season where Ted was at this beautiful Inn in upstate New York and he made himself a promise that he was going to come back, when he found of the love of his life, and bring her there.

That paints a good picture of how I am feeling. How to be in the moment and plan for the future. The places I want to visit with him I’ll go to now, and I can bring him back with me once I have him. The books I’m excited to read to my kids I’ll keep rereading now so I  know them even better when reading them to my kids.

So I’ll sit in my very own big cozy bed, reading, dreaming, living, and never ever waiting.

Comment

