I totally lived, I just don’t have the instagram post to prove it.

I’m on this kick right now where, well, where I kind of really hate social media. As you know, I deleted my Facebook. I don’t miss it, and even better yet, I forget it exists until someone brings it up. Again, I am not an anti-Facebook activist. But… I may be becoming an anti-social media activist. I know, it all happens so fast.

A few weekends ago I drove down to San Diego and spent the night with one of my good friends and her husband. We cooked dinner in, poured the wine, and sat around the dinner table sharing stories and laughing for three hours.

And I have no photo to show for it.

It got me thinking, that a great deal of my favorite moments don’t involve an instagram post. A lot do, to be honest. Certainly instagram does not account for any of my days and nights from hell. It does not record my stress, exhaustion, or general bewilderment.

I am not again social media. I enjoy myself some instagram and twitter (eh, sometimes for twitter). But I want to be more concerned about living life and investing in the people around me than I am about getting the perfect shot to capture the moment of our brunch date.

It’s a good life, lets be sure to live it.

Some recent photos on the old iPhone that I love but haven’t social media-ified:

My brother and sister-in-law, downtown Detroit.
My brother and sister-in-law, downtown Detroit.
Waiting for the Made In America festival to start, DTLA.
Waiting for the Made In America festival to start, DTLA.
I will never get over the view of landing in LAX at nighttime. Scattered gold.
I will never get over the view of landing in LAX at nighttime. Scattered gold.
On of my best friend's wedding day.
  On of my best friend’s wedding day.
My brother and his foster puppies.
My brother and his foster puppies.
My British boss reading a new book by his favorite British author.
My British boss reading a new book by his favorite British author.
unnamed
Dogsitting, took him to work with me. (:
Moments of stillness.
Moments of stillness.
One thought on “I totally lived, I just don’t have the instagram post to prove it.”

Comment

