I love Sia’s new video, and I think you should too.

After reading and hearing about the controversy surrounding Sia’s new music video for her song “Elastic Heart” I watched it for myself this morning and have not been able to stop thinking about it all day.

First things first, if you didn’t see the original video for her song “Chandelier” you need to watch that or else you’ll be lost in this post.

Now, this new video featured the same young Sia character, as well as an older male version of Sia, played by Shia Labeouf. Based on this next sentence you can decide if you want to watch the video or not, but if you keep reading I do hope you watch the video. The controversy surrounding the video is that people interpreted it to have pedophilia connotations.

After watching the video I came to one conclusion: People will find what they’re looking for. If you are looking for inappropriate dance movements to be outraged about, you will find it. If you’re looking for inspiration through the depth of dance movements, you will find it.

I found the latter.

I watched the new music video and was nearly in tears. Which, by the way, is the same way I felt about the “Chandelier” video. Maddie Zieglar is an incredible dancer to say the least, but teamed with Shia Labeouf’s acting talent I was in amazement. The emotions, the expressions, the way so much is communicated to those who watch it, it is exactly art.

For those who may not know much about this past year for Shia Labeouf, he has had some heavy times. He struggled with a lot of questions and accusations about himself, his career, his sanity, his faith. And that is keeping it completely vague. Not that vague is necessary when a quick google search can tell you everything I am not. I’m not telling you because I have felt pretty heavy hearted for the man this past year. I don’t know and I never will know what it’s like to live a life in the spotlight, so I am the last person to judge anyone for any action or reaction they may have. As for where Shia stands now, I am not sure. But I know that when I watched this “Elastic Heart” video I saw raw talent, and perhaps raw transparency.

To me, Sia’s videos have tapped into a depth of emotional art that forms a lump in my throat and makes me long for creativity.

If this video makes you feel weird, that’s okay too. Art is different to everyone. And everyone has different perspectives.

Comment

